The past two weeks have been one big bummer.  Actually the last 13 days to be exact.  My kids have managed to tag team being sick, and it’s meant almost every one of those nights (minus 2 or 3 in the middle) I’ve been up feeling foreheads every 2-3 hours.  So at the end of the day when my brain is fried, writing feels like a mountain I just don’t have the tools to climb.  I know this is just a small season, but no matter what is going on I seem to always find an excuse not to write.  Instead I talk about it, I dream about it, anything but actually doing it.  If not for this writer’s group (bless you girls) I would simply be an always talking wannabe writer.  Atleast now, I feel like I’m on the road to leaving the wannabe status. 

My current project – current meaning from the past 4 years! – is nowhere near the subject matter of my world right now.   If I have free time, I don’t feel like I have enough time or energy to get into the zone, so I opt for no writing (unless we have an assignment – thanks FWWG!).  Awful, I know. 

So this gets me to the topic of focus and discipline…How do you put away your world and focus on what you want to write about?  And more importantly, what makes you actually sit down and do it?

