Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
Phillipians 4:6-7

Some mornings getting out the door is an act of Congress. Getting both children pointed in the same direction is a feat, but what really wears me out are our bags. Everyone seems to have a bag. One for diapers, one for school and one for me. A good Mommy would pack them the night before, but not me. Although I hate it, I seem to thrive in the chaos of the morning ritual of packing the bags. By the end of the week, the bags seem to have gained a few pounds as Hot Wheels and jackets collect in the bottom of each of them.

Although these bags often make me weary, they are nothing compared to the heavy one I carry with me everyday. I can’t physically see it, but I know it’s there. This bag contains all my stuff. And each day I pack it full. Some things in my bag I’ve been carrying around for years, others I grab along the way. They are all the things that weigh me down – my insecurities, my hurts, my angers, my sorrows, my worries, my sin. All the things that keep my heart away from God and keep me from being all that he has designed me to be. But as much as I loathe this bag, I seem to always have it with me. Always dragging it along allowing it to make me weary.

Hebrews 12, verses 2 and 3 tell us, “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” As we are in the midst of this Holy Week, consider Him. Consider Him who died for each of us and simply wants us to lighten our load so that we are free to worship.

So do it now. Get your bag, and if it’s not already packed, pack it. Place all that wearies you in the bag and climb the hill to the cross and lay it there…and worship.

