If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. John 15:18

My son, Max, and I were talking recently about Easter. “So what is Easter all about, Max?” I asked. He looked at me and very convincingly said, “Easter egg hunts, Mom.” Yikes. I realize Max is only 5, but he has heard the Easter Story before. I promise. Don’t get me wrong, I do like a good Easter egg hunt, dying and decorating eggs, and those Cadbury Eggs – let’s just be glad they don’t sell them year round is all I’m saying. That stuff is fun, for sure, and I’m not into taking that all away from my children, but I absolutely want them to know that Easter is our thing. Easter is what makes us Christians. Jesus died and rose again! Pretty much everyone believes He was born, but that He died and rose again? That’s us.

Honestly, even as an adult it is hard to put the world and our culture behind and look at what Easter really means. Before He was taken to His death, Jesus told His disciples – or actually warned them – that they are not of this world. Death loomed in the near future, and yet He made sure the disciples heard and understood these words. Just like the disciples, we have to live in this world, but like them, we are not of this world. Even though the persecution may be less now, I think it’s fair to say that the propaganda seems quite worse. From the latest and greatest baskets to pictures with bunnies, Easter is something our culture simply turns into “cute,” and judging by the shelves this year, I’d say it’s just getting cuter. As Christians, we are not off the hook. Ashamedly, I admit I put more thought into what my kids will wear on Easter morning to church than the time it takes for the pastor to deliver his sermon. And the propaganda that I speak of, do I guard my heart and the hearts of my children from getting caught up in all the hype? Or do I arm them with truth about our Savior?

Easter is about a battle. A battle our God waged with sin and died for in an excrutiating death. His battle – we get to celebrate, but we have a battle, too. One that is waged on us daily, on ordinary days and especially our holidays. The battlefront is our home, our office, our schools, our world. It is a place that we are called to live in, but one we should never be at home in.

Easter is all around. Have you seen it? You may have gotten the kids’ outfits, their baskets, and hung an egg wreath on your door, but are you truly ready? As you prepare for Easter this season, sift through the pastels, get your heart prepared to celebrate a Risen God…and go ahead, have that Cadbury Egg.

